Brahmin Community : In Depth with Gotra and Pravana

Posted: May 17, 2010 in Aware

Dear Friends,

I have come across lot to enquiries /questions from you about Details of Gotra & Kuldevi / Kuldevta from various part of the world, this search and Information is made to serve you in accordance to resolve your Questions and quarries. I still need your support to Improvise myself.

Book References :

  • M.A. Sherring, Hindu Tribes and Castes as Reproduced in Benaras, Asian Educational Services, New Delhi, First ed 1872, new ed 2008.
  • Thanks

    Vibhanshu Dave

     

    Brahmin communities

    The Brahmin castes may be broadly divided into two regional groups: Pancha-Gauda Brahmins from Northern India and considered to be North of Vindhya mountains and Pancha-Dravida Brahmins from South of Vindhya mountains as per the shloka, however this sloka is from Rajatarangini of Kalhana which is composed only in 11th CE.

    कर्णाटकाश्च तैलंगा द्राविडा महाराष्ट्रकाः,
    गुर्जराश्चेति पञ्चैव द्राविडा विन्ध्यदक्षिणे ||
    सारस्वताः कान्यकुब्जा गौडा उत्कलमैथिलाः,
    पन्चगौडा इति ख्याता विन्ध्स्योत्तरवासि ||

    Translation: Karnataka (Kannada), Telugu (Andhra), Dravida (Tamil and Kerala), Maharashtra and Gujarat are Five Southern (Panch Dravida). Saraswata, Kanyakubja, Gauda, Utkala (Orissa), Maithili are Five Northern (Pancha Gauda). This classification occurs in Rajatarangini of Kalhana and earlier in some inscriptions.

    Pancha Gauda Brahmins

    Panch Gaur (the five classes of Northern India): (1) Saraswat, (2) Kanyakubja, (3) Maithil Brahmins, (4) Gauda brahmins (including Sanadhyas), and (5)Utkala Brahmins . In addition, for the purpose of giving an account of Northern Brahmins each of the provinces must be considered separately, such as, Kashmir, Nepal, Uttarakhand, Himachal, Kurukshetra, Rajputana, Uttar Pradesh, Ayodhya (Oudh), Gandhara, Punjab, North Western Provinces and Pakistan, Sindh, Central India, Tirhut, Bihar, Orissa, Bengal, Assam, etc. The originate from south of the (now-extinct) Sarasvati River.

    Pancha Dravida

    Panch Dravida (the five classes of Southern India): 1) Andhra, 2) Dravida (Tamil and Kerala), 3) Karnataka, 4) Maharashtra and Konkon, and 5) Gujarat.

    In Maharashtra,Panch dravid Brahmins are classified into five groups: Chitpavan Konkanastha Brahmins, Gaud Saraswat Brahmin, Deshastha Brahmin, Karhade Brahmin, and Devrukhe. As the name indicates, Kokanastha Brahmin are from Konkan area. Gaud Saraswat Brahmins are from Konkan region or they may come from Goa or Karnataka, Deshastha Brahmin are from plains of Maharashtra, Karhade Brahmins are perhaps from Karhatak (an ancient region in India that included present day south Maharashtra and northern Karnataka) and Devrukhe Brahmins are from Devrukh near Ratnagiri.Bagda brahmins

    In Andhra Pradesh, Brahmins are broadly classified into 2 groups: Vaidiki Brahmins (meaning educated in vedas and performing religious vocations) and Niyogi (performing only secular vocation). They are further divided into several sub-castes. However, majority of the Brahmins, both Vaidika and Niyogi, perform only secular professions.

    Gotras and pravaras

    In general, gotra denotes any person who traces descent in an unbroken male line from a common male ancestor. Pāṇini defines gotra for grammatical purposes as ‘ apatyam pautraprabhrti gotram’ , which means ‘the word gotra denotes the progeny (of a sage) beginning with the son’s son. When a person says ‘ I am Kashypasa-gotra’ he means that he traces his descent from the ancient sage Kashyapa by unbroken male descent. According to the Baudhâyanas’rauta-sûtra Viśvāmitra, Jamadagni, Bharadvâja, Gautama, Atri, Vasishtha, Kashyapa and Agastya are 8 sages; the progeny of these eight sages is declared to be gotras. This enumeration of eight primary gotras seems to have been known to Pāṇini. These gotras are not directly connected to Prajapathy or latter brama. The offspring (apatya) of these eight are gotras and others than these are called ‘ gotrâvayava ‘.

    The gotras are arranged in groups, e. g. there are according to the Âsvalâyana-srautasûtra four subdivisions of the Vasishtha gana, viz. Upamanyu, Parāshara, Kundina and Vasishtha (other than the first three). Each of these four again has numerous sub-sections, each being called gotra. So the arrangement is first into ganas, then into pakshas, then into individual gotras. The first has survived in the Bhrigu and Āngirasa gana. According to Baudh., the principal eight gotras were divided into pakshas. The pravara of Upamanyu is Vasishtha, Bharadvasu, Indrapramada; the pravara of the Parâshara gotra is Vasishtha, Shâktya, Pârâsharya; the pravara of the Kundina gotra is Vasishtha, Maitrâvaruna, Kaundinya and the pravara of Vasishthas other than these three is simply Vasishtha. It is therefore that some define pravara as the group of sages that distinguishes the founder (lit. the starter) of one gotra from another.

    There are two kinds of pravaras, 1) sishya-prasishya-rishi-parampara, and 2) putrparampara. Gotrapravaras can be ekarsheya, dwarsheya, triarsheya, pancharsheya, saptarsheya, and up to 19 rishis. Kashyapasa gotra has at least two distinct pravaras in Andhra Pradesh: one with three sages (triarsheya pravara) and the other with seven sages (saptarsheya pravara). This pravara may be either sishya-prasishya-rishi-parampara or putraparampara. When it is sishya-prasishya-rishi-parampara marriage is not acceptable if half or more than half of the rishis are same in both bride and bridegroom gotras. If it is putraparampara, marriage is totally unacceptable even if one rishi matches.

     

    Comments
    1. DEEPAK DAVE says:

      As per diary of my late father, we are audichya brahmin having Kaushik gotra .Three pravers are Kaushik,.Aushik,Aangiras.We belong to Shihore Shrampdaya. and are known as Bagasthaliya Dave.Probably our ancestors were given Bagasara Village
      Details about Kuldevi is very much confusing.

    2. vikas moghe says:

      Dear Vibhanshu Dave,
      I am Vikas Moghe, Karhade Brahman, my Gotra is Mudgal,
      and Kuldevta is Bhavani-Harihareshwar,
      I am interested to know the name of my “Kul Devi”
      Please let me know from where can i get this information?
      Regadrs,
      Vikas Moghe

    3. Anupam says:

      Dear Vikas

      i am anupam moghe.

      I ave got a Piece of knowledge about moghe family in a form of a Vanshawali.

      it discribes that the kuldevi as amba Bai of Kolhapur which came through a seperate reason.

      I can share the vanshawali

    4. Bhagyashree Biwalkar says:

      Dear Vibhanshu Dave,

      i m Bhagyashree Biwalkar i wanted to know abt our family Kuldevi,

      we are from maharashtra kokanastha Brahmin’s with Kashyap Gotra.

      i would be very thankful if you provide details to us.

    5. jayesh gor(sola) says:

      good effort

    6. MAHESH JOSHI says:

      Dear Vibhanshu Dave,

      i m Mahesh Joshi i wanted to know abt our family Kuldevi,

      we are from Gujarat Audichya Sahastrah Brahmin, our Gotra is Gargi. We did not know our Origin of Birth Place, but King Siddhraj Jaysingh of Siddhpur had have settled our forefather at village ILLASARIYA.Taluka Sihor, Distt: Bhavnagar long back.I
      i would be very thankful if you provide details of our KULDEVI to us.

      REGARDS
      MAHESH JOSHI

    7. simplyrohit21 says:

      Pranam Vibhanshu

      You are doing a great work. Keep it up. I am a subscriber of your blog.

      Just wanted to point out one thing. I noticed that you’ve mentioned-

      “…….Central India, Tirhut, Bihar, Orissa, Bengal, Assam, etc. The originate from south of the (now-extinct) Sarasvati River.”

      The Sarasvati River is not extinct but it now has become a subterranean river. It continues to flow but under the ground.

      Love and Light,
      Rohit

    8. Seema Vartak says:

      Dear Sir,

      I, Seema Vartak, from Konkanastha Brahmin family. Basically We are Datar (Sirname), but Shahu Maharaj honoured Ramaji Datar – Vartaki. from then Sirname has changed to Vartak. We are not aware of our Kuldev & Kuldevi. Our Gotra is Vasistha.

      Will you be able to help me in this regard.

      Waiting for your positive reply,

      Seema

    9. vikas moghe says:

      Hi Anupam moghe, as you told you have the Vanshavali of Moghe Family, could you forward a copy to me ?
      My mail id is vikas.moghe@rediffmail.com
      Please drop a mail from your id to share my address if it’s in the form of a hard copy,
      Regards,
      vikas moghe

    10. kgo says:

      hi..can u tell me dat nisshande and kanngo gotra are from sarswat brahmin community..

    11. kapil says:

      hi my name is kapil and i want to know about my kuldevi and kuldevta.i am audichya bhramin and my goutra is gautam.

    12. sanjay jani says:

      very very nice but marwadi auditchya nothing in your history?

    13. sanjay jani says:

      your same family in rajasthan,about 7 village,1st BHANDER,2nd BHATUND,3rd NOVI,4th GANDHI, 5th DAILANA, 6th SANTPUR (ABU road),7th MAWAL

    14. sanjay jani says:

      MY NAME IS SANJAY JANI, FROM-VILLAGE-BHATUND(RAJASTHAN),MY GOTRA IS UPMANYU,I WANT TO KNOW MY KULDEVI & KULDEVTA,

    15. vishwas tiwari says:

      dave ji namashkar,
      hum kanyakubja bramin he, mere dadaji se mujhe pata laga ki hum kashyap gotra ke he, lekin abhi-abhi pipariya(m.p.) me rahane wale dadaji ke bhaiyo ke pariwar se patalaga ki hum vats gotreey mandhana ke tiwari he. 3 peedhiyo se kashyap gotra mante aarahe he, ab hame kya karna chahiye?
      yah bhi bataiye ki dama ke tiwariyo aur mandhana ke tiwariyo ke kuldevi tatha kuldevta kaun-kaun he aur inke poojan ke din kaunse he yadi koi vishesh poojan samagri ho to wah bhi kripa karke batave.
      kasht ke liye kshama kare
      dhanyawad

    16. VIVEK says:

      Dear Daveji

      i am srivasta gotra brahmin (sariyuparin). can you tell me abt my kuldevata and kuldevi

    17. vikas moghe says:

      Hi Anupam moghe, as you told you have the Vanshavali of Moghe Family, could you forward a copy to me ?
      My mail id is vikas.moghe@rediffmail.com
      Please drop a mail from your id to share my address if it’s in the form of a hard copy,
      Regards,
      vikas moghe

    18. arati says:

      I am Arati Katre, Karhade Brahman, my Gotra is Kashyap
      and I would like to know my family diety and dietess i.eKuldevta and kul devi
      I am interested to know the name of my “Kul Devi”
      Please let me know from where can i get this information?
      Regadrs,

    19. Anjana Joshi says:

      Dear Vibhanshu Dave,
      i m Anjana Joshi i wanted to know abt our family Kuldevi,
      we are from Gujarat Audichya Sahastrah Brahmin, our Gotra is Bhargava.we are frm Siddhpur, Paatan Gujrat.i would be very thankful if you provide details of our KULDEVI to us.
      REGARDS
      ANJANA JOSHI

    20. arati says:

      I am Arati Katre, Karhade Brahman, my Gotra is Kashyap
      and I would like to know my family diety and dietess i.eKuldevta and kul devi
      I am interested to know the name of my “Kul Devi”
      Please let me know from where can i get this information?
      Regadrs,

    21. Anita Pareek says:

      can kashyap gotra boy and kaushik gotra girl get married to each other??

    22. bharateeya says:

      Vibhanshuji,

      I would like to add that the reference book “M.A. Sherring, Hindu Tribes and Castes” is available at Digital Library of India (DLI) in 3 volumes. It could be downloaded using DLI Downloader or any such software. For further details regarding DLI downloader, please visit http://www.dlidownloader.blogspot.com/

    23. Om Moghey says:

      Hi Anupam moghe, as you told you have the Vanshavali of Moghe Family, could you forward a copy to me ?
      My mail id is om.moghey@gmail.com
      Please drop a mail from your id to share my address if it’s in the form of a hard copy,
      Regards,
      om prakash moghey

    24. GAJENDRA SHARMA says:

      I AM A KAUSHISH BRAHMIN BUT THERE ARE NO GOTRA IN THE BRAHMIN GOTRA LIST.

    25. vilpesh pandya says:

      Its is very confusing and complected

      I AM Audhicya sahatra brahman
      sub community:-basiya (modasa-himatnagar)
      gotra: vashistha
      surname is PANDYA
      kuldevi:–????

      can somebody put some light on this?

      thx

      vilpesh pandya

      email: vilpeshpandya@gmail.com
      vilpesh@aol.com

    26. Vaibhav says:

      Dear Vibhanshu,

      My name is Vaibhav Purandare residing in Indore, Madhya Pradesh. We are Deshastha Rigvedi Bramhan and our Gotra is Bhardwaj. Shri Mallari Martand is out kuldevata. But we are unaware about our kuldevi. Can I get any reference through you or number of peoples connected to your network regarding this (Our Kuldevi).

      Thanks.

      Vaibhav

    27. krishan kumar kaushik says:

      hello i am kaushik sorry krishan kaushik from haryana
      sir i want to know about the history of kaushi
      pls tell me
      i am waiting

    28. mandar katre says:

      answer to querry by arti katre
      KATRE kuldaivat is BHAVANI -SHANKAR [SOMESHWAR]
      KATRE kuldeviata is ARYADURGA

      all Katre’s [karhade brahmins] are originated from NIRUL [PAVAS-RATNAGIRI] and CHORAWANE village, near NANIJ NARENDRA MAHARAJ MATH ,RATNAGIRI district.

      some katre’s went to shiloli ,bhudargad from chorawane village .some also went to ujjain and other places.

      Rudrabhat and Sombhat Katre were prominently involved in the Shiv-rajyabhishek ceremony in 16th century at \raigadh alonwith Gagabhatt from Kashi…
      thanks

    29. Mandar Katre says:

      KATRE kuldaivat is BHAVANI -SHANKAR [SOMESHWAR]
      KATRE kuldeviata is ARYADURGA

      KATRE gotra is KASHYAP

      all Katre’s [karhade brahmins] are originated from NIRUL [PAVAS-RATNAGIRI] and CHORAWANE village, near NANIJ NARENDRA MAHARAJ MATH ,RATNAGIRI district.

      some katre’s went to shiloli ,bhudargad from chorawane village .some also went to ujjain and other places.

      Rudrabhat and Sombhat Katre were prominently involved in the Shiv-rajyabhishek ceremony in 16th century at \raigadh alonwith Gagabhatt from Kashi…
      thanks

    30. JAYANT C.DAVE -VILLAGE-BHANDER. [ PALI ] says:

      RATE THIS, Hi my name is jayant dave from ‘BHANDER’ rajasthan.as per diary of my late father we are AUDITCHYA GOMTWAL BRAHMIN, KRASHNAWATI GOTRA,my kuldevi ‘MAA ANNAPURNA DEVI’ tample in my village.my same auditchya gomtiwal family in rajasthan-1st.BHANDER, 2nd.BHATUND. 3rd.NOVI,4th.GANTHI. 5th.DAILANA. 6th.SANTPUR. 7th.MAWAL near abu road {abu hill}.

    31. mudgalh says:

      want to know origin of mudgal , please provide some info regars,
      kuldevi kuldevta

    32. as per my provided information we are bhardwaj gotra shasan mardwandini. shasan mardwandini brahmins are found around bulandsahar. dankaur is said to been the origin place of Guru Dronacharya.

    33. Brajesh kumar Tiwari says:

      respected vibhanshu ji, my self brajejesh kumar tiwari, res.at& p.o. chilli,distt.hamirpur ,u,p., my gotra is vatsa.

    34. anshu shukla says:

      i am anshu tiwari ,my gotra is vasistha and pravar is tripravar ,sutra is katyayan and shakha is maadyandini…..kindly tell us f our kuldevi
      ….also sunil shukla,gotra garg,panchpravar,sutra ios katyayan and shakha is maadyadini…..kindly tell us about our kuldevi

    35. pramila saraswat says:

      I am chooda maniof mathura who wasour rishi

    36. chhanda bhattacharya says:

      i heard we are Kanyakubja Brahmins and we are from bengal with kashyap gotra. but i checked its not listed by you. only orisa is there.

    37. t b pandya says:

      we are audichya brahmin from gujarat oyrs is upamanu gotra i would like to know about our kuldevi pl reply me namasteji

    38. rakesh kumar pandey says:

      sir please mu email id given my goatra is vatsa please given my istya god

    39. Dear all,

      to know more about brahmin kuldevi and devta visit my link given below :

      sites.google.com/site/yatindrathakursite

      –Yatindra Thakur

    40. nirmal kumar sharma says:

      i am nirmal kumar sharma gaur brhamin my gotra is bhardwaj ,shashan is janothariya, padvi is pandey, veda is shukal yajurveda, shakaha is madyandini, sutra is katyayan, pravar is three bhardwaj-,angiras- brahspati, shikha is dakshin,ganpati is gajanan and kuldevi is sehdevi.

    41. manish kelkar says:

      my name is manish kelkar my gotra is shandilya i know about our kuldevi & kuldevta sir please sent this information

    42. harvinder mudgal says:

      dear sir,

      please throw detailed light on mudgal , i am not getting any litrature on mudgals please help
      regards,
      harvinder mudgal

    43. manoj sharma says:

      dear sir,
      my name is manoj sharma from rajasthan ( sikar ) my gotra is koshik ( kalwadia), sir plz give me details my kul devi

    44. Mrunal Sharma says:

      Hi Everybody,

      I am Mrunal, a Kanyakubja Brahmin from Jamnagar, Gujarat. My gotra is Bhardwaj. My mother language is Gujarati. According to family history, our forefathers came from Kanuaj (Today I think it is in UP). Are anybody from you interested to contact me?

    45. sanjay.Pande( Shroti) says:

      Hi,
      I am sanjayShroti ,a gujargaud brahmin.My mother tongue is marwadi.I would like to know my Kuldevi and Kuldevta and there temple.please help and reply ASAP.Gotra Bharadwaj

    46. MUKUND says:

      Its is very confusing and complected

      I AM Audhicya sahatra brahman
      sub community:- joshi (unjha-mehsana)
      gotra: vashistha
      surname is JOSHI
      kuldevi:–????

      can somebody put some light on this?

      thx

      MUKUND JOSHI

    47. Aneesh .C. Pandit says:

      my name is aneesh pandit. karhade brahmin .my gotra is bharadwaj. I dont know my kuldaivat. please reply me with your answer as early as possible.

    48. NIRMAL KUMAR BHARDWAJ says:

      hi,
      i am nirmal kumar bhardwaj gaur brahmin of haryana.My gotra is bhardwaj,shashan is janothariya,pravar are three-bhardwaj-angiras-brihaspati.my shakha is madhyandini,sutra is katyayan,padvi is pandey,kuldevi is SEHDEVI,and ganpati is gajanan.EVRY BRAHMIN SHOULD KNOW HIS GOTRA, ,SHIKHA, SUTRA, SHASHAN, PADVI, PARVAR, SUTRA N KULDEVI

    49. Himanshu Tiwari says:

      Dear Mr. Vibhanshu Dave,

      I have questions about my gotra.. I was told by my late father long back that they are Gautam Gotri Tiwari.. but now when we tell our gotra as Gautam many Astrologer’s and Purohits with Gotra system knowledge say that Tiwari’s don’t have Gautam Gotra, it is not possible for any Tiwari surnamed bhraman to have Gautam Gotra. is this true?

      Thanks in advance for you reply.

    50. bharat sarkar says:

      my name is bharat sarkar m from kashyap gotra i want to get all the details about gotra n related to caste how they migrated to other places n when what’s the reason n what they did

    51. rajesh vats says:

      dear sir,
      i am rajesh sharma(vats).i know what is history of vats gotr. who was the rishi of vats gotra. where is start ogotr. tell me pls.pls…. (srajesh327@gmail..com

    52. Sharma says:

      Hello , can you help me what rishi Gotra does mraiya Brahmain belong to?

    53. JAYESH JOSHI says:

      Respected sir ,
      My NAme is Jayesh Josh. i do not our kuldevi”s Name Our Gautra is Gautam And Iam a Aaudichya sahstra brahmin stay in kheralu , dist mehsana

    54. JAYESH JOSHI says:

      Respected sir ,
      My Name is jayesh joshi. I do not know our kuldevi and devta”s Name
      Gautra : Gautam ,
      Saurname : Joshi [ Aaudichya Sahastra brahmin So plese tell me our kuldevi & devta”s Name

    55. mrs s.c kulkarni says:

      i want to know about surname thite………and gotra is atri……..is this name from deshashta rugavedi brahman?

    56. Khushi Dixit says:

      Hello sir,
      I’m Khushi dixit from bilaspur (chhattisgarh) my ancesstors belongs to Khaga hadgaon (uttarpradesh). we’re kanyakubj brahmin of bhardwaj gotra , i want to know about our kuldevi/kuldevta and where is its worship place ? please do help me by providing the relevant information .

    57. sir, we are basically from sihore Bhavnagar & audichay Bharamin having Bhargav Gautra can you please guide us who is our kuldevi…?

    58. sunil sharma says:

      sir i am sunil sharma angiras gotar distt kangra himachal pardesh sir give me the detail our kuldive

    59. dilip deole says:

      dear Dave,
      I dilip deole, is deshastha Yajurved Brahmin kushik gotra. I want to confirm our kuldevat and kuldevata as we believe Datta and Tuljabhawani.

    60. vikas moghe says:

      Hi Anupam Moghe,
      you have certainly got disappeared from the blog.
      I am really interested to have the vanshavali of moghe family.
      May i once again request you to forward it to me on my mail id vikas.moghe@rediffmail.com, or just drop me a mail to share my address with you if it is in the form of hard copy only
      Regards,
      vikas moghe.

    61. Ankush Awasthi says:

      pranam
      Im Ankush Awasthi from Kanpur U.P. im kanyakubj brahmin my hotra is UPMANYU . I want to my kuldevi & kuldev. Please tell me its very much important for my 6yrs old son’s future. kindly mail me.

    62. Ankush Awasthi says:

      pranam
      Im Ankush Awasthi
      from Kanpur U.P. im
      kanyakubj brahmin my
      gotra is UPMANYU . I
      want to my kuldevi &
      kuldev. Please tell me
      its very much
      important for my 6yrs
      old son’s future. kindly
      mail me.

    63. Deshpande says:

      Hi my surname is Deshpande, Deshastha Yajurvedi and our gotra is Sankhyayan. Please help me to find our ‘Kuldev’ and ‘Kuldevi’.

    64. dhananjay pandey says:

      dear sir,
      we (pandey) are originated from place Malaon in uttar pradesh.now we are situated in chhapra district village badarjameen in bihar.we have forgotten our gotra. please help us to tell our gotra.

    65. lakhan sharma says:

      Respected sir ,
      My Name is lakhan sharma. I do not know our kuldevi and devta”s Name
      Gautra : Bhardwaj,
      Saurname : jani [ Aaudichya Sahastra brahmin So plese tell me our kuldevi & devta”s Name
      mail me full details :-rajveer.lakhan@gmail.com
      contact no. 9782186462

    66. anil koushish says:

      plz tell me about koushish gotra in gaur brahman

    67. Dharmesh Joshi says:

      My Name is Joshi Dharmesh Avdhit Brahmin Gotra Gargas I want to know about Our Family Kuldevi name

    68. mina tiwari says:

      guruji namaskar,
      tiwari kitne prakarke hotey hai aur bivinna desmey rehne wale tiwari ka gotra vi kya ek hi hotey hey ya farak?
      hamara gotra sandilya bataya gaya hey aur hum Nepal k rehne wale hey..isisliye kya ap hame detail bata sakte hey?

    69. madhu vyas says:

      Dear Vibhanshu Dave,
      i m madhu vyasi i wanted to know abt our family Kuldevi,
      we are from Gujarat Audichya Sahastrah satha Brahmin, our Gotra is vshishta.we are frm sabarkantha Gujrat.i would be very thankful if you provide details of our KULDEVI to us.
      REGARD
      madhu vyas

    70. Sudhakar Narade says:

      Very nice

    71. Dinesh shyamlal sharma says:

      I am Dinesh sharma haryana gaur brahamin and my gotra is samotiya
      Please tell me about my kuldevi and kuldevta

    72. kunal miglani says:

      Respected sir,
      My name is kunal miglani nd my gotra is kashyap.. can u please tell me. we are punjabi brahmans or not…. plz. mail me:- kunal3250@gmail.com
      contact no. 8802441249

    73. balkrishna Paradkar says:

      Sir,
      I am karhade brahmin name as balkrishna paradkar. I want to know exact location of our kuldevata . it is said to be mahalakshmi ravalnath. please guide me . thanks.namaskar
      with regards
      paradkar balkrishna

    74. Amrutha says:

      can a girl of gargas gotra marry a guy from bharadwaj gotra ? if not wat s d solution ?

    75. Ghanshyam Pandey says:

      I want to answer the question of MR. Dhananjay Pandey, Who has asked question on 05/sept./2013. My email ID is ghanshyampandey130@yahoo.com. Your Gotra is most probably–‘SANKRUT’. Malaon village is in Gorakhpur. In malaon village majority of pandey are having ‘Sankrut’ gotra.

    76. Ankush Awasthi says:

      pranam
      Im Ankush Awasthi
      from Kanpur U.P. im
      kanyakubj brahmin my
      gotra is UPMANYU . I
      want to know my kuldevi &
      kuldev. Please tell me
      its very much
      important for my 6yrs
      old son’s future. kindly
      mail me.
      mauzer888@yahoo.com

    77. Jeevan Sharma says:

      I am bhardaj from rajasthan dis.pali village bijowa I know my kuldevi

    78. OUr family name is Kulponauth and we are Gossagne Brahmins who emigrated from NOrth India to Mauritius. I dnt at all of our kuldevta or kuldevi. Pls help

    79. Ajinkya D. Kirkire says:

      Hi there,

      My name is Ajinkya Kirkire. I am a Karhade Brahmin and our gotra is Bhardwaj. It would be very nice if you can tell me my deity (Kuldevi) as there is lot of confusion amongst our family. Some people say it is Devi Aryadurga while some say it is Devi Ekvira. Please help in this case.

      Regards,
      Ajinkya D. Kirkire

    80. shaileshbhai amrutlal joshi says:

      pranam i do not know my kuldevi and kuldevta our birthplace is RUPAL TA VADGAM DIST BANASKANTHA RUPAL please give my answer

    81. shaileshbhai amrutlal joshi PALANPUR BANASKANTHA says:

      I do not know my kuldevi and kuldevta please search my kuldevi my native place is RUPAL which is in BANASKANTHA District Rupal is located in VADGAM taluka.

    82. Varuna Chaturvedi says:

      Hello!!! Myself Varuna Chaturvedi. we are Jijotiya brahman and Gautam gotra. Would like to our Kul devi and kuldevta. Please help me … varuna.charturvedi@yahoo.com 91-9004467555

    83. Yagnaprakash Natvarlal Jani says:

      pranam
      im yagnaprakash jani from rajkot im garg(gargus gotra). i want to khow my kuldevi.please tell me its very much important for me. kindly mail me.
      vgdham@gmail.com

    Leave a Reply

    